Mudra Vigyan

Published Date: 6/14/2023 6:02:50 AM

The Five Elements :
  • The Science of Mudras is based on the fundamental principles of life - the 5 elements, or the Panch Mahabhootas.
  • Our bodies are also made up of these five elements.
  • They are present in fixed proportions. Any imbalance can cause disease.
  • There is a lack or excess of these elements due to our current lifestyle, improper eating habits, and impure food and water.
The Universe is made up of five elements.
  • Earth (Prithvi)
  • Water (Jal)
  • Fire (Agni)
  • Air (Vayu)
  • Space (Akash)
1. Akash - Space Element:
  • Occupies the region of the head.
  • Related to thought processes.
  • Represents Bodily cavities like cranial, paranasal sinuses, ear cavity, the abdominal cavity.
  • Also represents space between vertebrae and joints, and other organs.
  • Associated with Ear and Hearing.
2. Vayu Element:
  • Occupies place between nose and diaphragm.
  • Denotes movement of the body and within the body.
  • Air represents our thoughts and emotions.
  • It is responsible for the movement of electrical impulses along the nerves.
  • Associated with touch and skin.
3. Agni - Fire Element:
  • Occupies space from navel to chest region.
  • Responsible for body temperature and metabolism.
  • Fire helps the organs and systems to function.
  • Causes thirst, hunger, digestion & assimilation of food.
  •  Associated with Vision and Eyes.
4. Jal - Water Element:
  • Occupies space between navel and thighs.
  • Constitutes all body fluids – blood, tears, saliva, digestive juices, urine, semen, and fat, etc.
  • Associated with Taste and Tongue.
5. Prithvi - Earth Element:
  • Occupies space between thighs and feet.
  • Constituent of skin, hair, nails, bones, cartilage, muscles, etc.
  • Excess can cause obesity.
  • Deficiency causes weight loss.
  •  Associated with Smell and Nose.


José de Jesús Corrales C.
Very interesting information! Thanks for sharing it!
9/28/2021 1:49:06 PM

Leave A Comment